Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List


HomePBR Bull Riding


Professional Bull Riders, Inc. (PBR) is an international professional bull riding organization based in Pueblo, Colorado, USA. In the United States, PBR events have been televised on CBS and CBS Sports Network since 2013.[1][2] More than 1,200 cowboys from the U.S., Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Australia, and New Zealand hold PBR memberships.


The organization began in 1992 through the efforts of 21 professional bull riders who gathered in a hotel room in Scottsdale, Arizona and each contributed $1,000.[3] Since that time, the organization has grown to include three tours (the Built Ford Tough Series, Touring Pro Division, and BlueDEF Tour) which collectively stage over 100 events in the United States every year. Prize money has exploded from over $330,000 in 1994 to over $11 million in 2008. In 2007, investment firm Spire Capital Partners acquired a majority stake in PBR.

The PBR moved to its current headquarters in Pueblo, Colorado in 2006. Its original headquarters were located in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

The PBR's premier tour, the Built Ford Tough Series (formerly the Bud Light Cup Series), includes at most 30 events across the United States every year. Pyrotechnics, pulsating music, and special effects open each event, and each features the top 35 riders in the world at the time. The season culminates in Las Vegas, where the PBR World Finals are held.

Riders attempt to stay on a bucking bull for eight seconds, and rides are judged based on both the rider's and the bull's performance, with two judges scoring the rider and two scoring the bull. At the end of each event, the top 15 riders compete in the short round, or "short go"; the rider with the highest point total from the entire event becomes the winner.

Since 2003, the PBR has awarded its annual world champion a $1,000,000 bonus.

From 2007–2010, the PBR also hosted a team competition format called the PBR World Cup, where 25 bull riders (altogether representing five different countries) competed to win the title of best bull rider in the world.

Randy Bernard, shown here in 2011, served as the CEO for Professional Bull Riders from 1995 to 2010.

Total viewership, including event attendees and the television audience, grew 52 percent between 2002 and 2004. In 2004, 16.4 million fans watched or attended a PBR event. By 2008, over 100 million watched the PBR on television, and over 1.7 million attended a live event.

The original CEO of the PBR was Sam Applebaum.[6] Then Randy Bernard became CEO of the PBR in 1995, a position he held until he resigned in 2010 to become the CEO of INDYCAR. On February 23, 2011, the PBR announced that Jim Haworth had become its new CEO. Then on June 29, 2015, the PBR announced that Haworth was promoted to Chairman, while COO Sean Gleason had become the new CEO.

Canada, Brazil, Australia, and Mexico each have their own PBR tours, and points earned on those tours count towards the U.S. qualifier standings and a spot in the PBR World Finals. A tour in China was scheduled to begin sometime in 2015 and PBR New Zealand was set to debut in Christchurch on November 13, 2014. Opportunities for expansion into Argentina are being explored as well.

PBR was bought by IMG in April 2015.

PBR World Champions 2015 J.B. Mauney 2014 Silvano Alves 2013 J.B. Mauney 2012 Silvano Alves 2011 Silvano Alves 2010 Renato Nunes 2009 Kody Lostroh 2008 Guilherme Marchi 2007 Justin McBride 2006 Adriano Moraes 2005 Justin McBride 2004 Mike Lee 2003 Chris Shivers 2002 Ednei Caminhas 2001 Adriano Moraes 2000 Chris Shivers 1999 Cody Hart 1998 Troy Dunn 1997 Michael Gaffney 1996 Owen Washburn 1995 Tuff Hedeman • 1994 Adriano Moraes

More Videos
Barrel Racing
Outback Adventure Series
Chuck Wagon Races