Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List



News / Articles

For The Record: Cowboy Capital Of The World PRCA Rodeo

 | Published on 9/24/2017
Stephenville, Texas, has more ProRodeo cowboys per square foot than anywhere else in the world, according to the Stephenville Chamber of Commerce. Home to the likes of Jacobs and Sterling Crawley and many other talented cowboys, the Cowboy Capital Of The World PRCA Rodeo boasts a rich history of rodeo competition.

This iconic rodeo was ongoing for decades before becoming a PRCA-sanctioned rodeo in 1970. Since, numerous records have been set and broken as cowboys race to the finish line of the regular season in hopes of qualifying for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo presented by Polaris RANGER.

Trevor Brazile set the Stephenville record for most money won in all-around with $6,797 in 2001.

Bareback rider Steven Dent’s 91-point ride has been the arena record since 2014.

Steer wrestler Bray Armes’ (pictured at left) 2015 record of 3.0 seconds is unlikely to be broken as only two bulldoggers have topped his time across all PRCA rodeos for the 2017 season. Both Damian Padilla and Straws Milan clocked in at 2.9 seconds earlier this season – Padilla in Fort Mohave, Ariz., and Milan in Edmonton, Alberta.

Team ropers Luke Brown and Martin Lucero set the Stephenville record in 2011 with their 3.7-second run.

Jacobs Crawley made his hometown proud by setting the arena record in 2012 with an 86-point ride.

Three cowboys share the Stephenville arena record of 7.3 seconds in tie-down roping. Originally set by Kurt Goulding and Fred Whitfield in 2002, their record-setting time was matched by Tyson Durfey in 2016.

Barrel racer Cassie Moseley set the arena record in 2011 with her 14.59-second run.

Brazile holds the steer wrestling arena record of 8.6 seconds with his 2008 run.

Three bull riders share the arena record of 91 points. Originally set by B.J. Schumacher in 2003, his score was matched by Cory McFadden in 2005 and J.W. Harris in 2008.

Stephenville’s record total payout was set in 2016 with $142,540.